Monday, May 5, 2014

Is Competition Motivating?

My husband has been having some challenges at work lately. I won't go into all the details (because they make me too angry), but it's been making me think about using competition to motivate.

Company's Desire:
To have more Motivated, Efficient, Professional Employees who work together to make an enjoyable experience for the customer.
Method:
Give tests to rank the employees and punish those who are on the bottom. The employee with the lowest rank at the end of the year will be demoted. Punish employees who make any mistakes on the job. Promote supervisors who properly report any mistakes.
Result:
Motivated: Employees dread coming to work. Efficient: They are nervous about making mistakes on the job and so they make more than they normally would otherwise. Professional: Employees are no longer concerned about being professional because they know they will not be treated as professionals. Team Spirit: Employees are now hoping other employees will make mistakes and not pass tests.

The methods completely undermine the objective. And if this is going to be a competition, shouldn't it be a competition for first place as opposed to just a race not to be last? So let's look at schools.
Government's Desire:
To produce college graduates who will contribute to the community as well as make Taiwan a strong presence in the world.
High School Methods: 
Create incentives where students who rank in the top five get scholarships to continue at the school, tuition free. Teachers post the students' test scores for all to see. Students who are truly competitors are given special attention from the teachers while other students are neglected or put into a separate class (true story).
Result:
Some students who are college graduates but spent their time in high school believing that they had value only when they did better than others. Other students who didn't go to college and believe this is an indication that they weren't "good enough". These beliefs are taken into the workforce where it undermines their ability to contribute to a community team and make Taiwan a strong presence in the world.

The motivation undermines the motive.

Now I'm not saying that there shouldn't ever be competition. I love a good competition as much as the next person does. My issue happens when we attach a person's value to whether or not he or she wins. That's why kids (and adults) freak out when they lose a game. They believe, whether they realize it or not, that their value as a person depends on winning.
And when you have no value, you have no motivation.

So I will continue competing against time and against myself. My question for you is: How do you stop yourself from attaching your value as a person to the results of your "competitions"?

Saturday, May 3, 2014

Tests and Midlife Crisis

I went to a meeting yesterday that a mom from my son's school invited me to go to. She had found a bunch of moms that wanted to do a summer camp for their small children. I was impressed with how much these women were willing to do to make sure their children had an educational summer. So, I declined the offer. They were offering me the opportunity to let my kids do everything I hate about school. Set time, set place, structured activities, prepared in advance, don't talk out of turn, raise your hand, you didn't do that right, do it again, there will be a test, and on and on. If we had just gotten together and decided on a park and time that the kids could get together and do play dates I would have been all about it. But all that self directed learning is not the best use of time.
I got another lesson in what is a good use of time for my children according to Taiwanese standards last night. My boy brought home what looked like a coloring contest brochure from school. On closer examination it showed that if you colored this and took it to a nearby supermarket in the next two days, it could be used as a ticket to play on giant bounce house stuff. Score! So my kids colored and we went, only for naive me to realize (apparently my husband knew what was coming, hence having to drag him out the door while we were all chomping at the bit) that it was a sales gimmick for an educational computer program for kids. One sales person played with the kids on the computer while another gives their sales pitch to the parents. After this ten minute sales pitch the young man gave us the form to sign up. We declined. "What's the problem? We lowered the price $30 (American) for you. You can pay in monthly installments for 3 years and for the low low price of $800 (American), your child can learn everything he needs to know to pass every test through the fifth grade!" Oh, how I wanted to tell him what the problem was~ "My kid goes to school every day from 7am to 4pm (that will be the schedule in 3rd grade). Every year he has a test to show what he learned for the entire year. A test every quarter to prepare for the year test. A test every month to get ready for the quarter tests. And a test every week to get ready for the monthly test. From 7 to 4 they will be spending their time memorizing information that has no meaning for them, except for the fact that it will be on the test. Their self worth will be measured by the rank in class the test gives them (teachers post their ranks from first to last in the class for all to see). None of the information memorized for the test will be used in any useful way because there's too much to memorize and time is limited. You are offering me the opportunity for $800 to let my kid continue spending his time testing at home on my computer. They're cute tests that growl when you get the right answer, but TESTS all the same. No. Thank. You." Instead we said, "We'll think about it." Then we got to go on the bounce slide twice. The kids thought it was great.

There is a point to all of this.
This got me thinking. I want my children to be curious, innovative, self directed, problem solvers. Not too much to ask is it? So this morning I asked them what they wanted to do and realized, their vision is limited. They didn't know what they wanted to do. So I made suggestions, "You can draw, play with playdough, do watercolors or play with blocks." None of that excited them and I knew it wouldn't because we've done a lot of that in the past. Then I said, "We have a lot of cardboard boxes. Do you want to build a house, a rocket, a robot?" I saw their vision expand. They didn't realize that was a possibility. But now that it was, there was no stopping them.
As I watched them get to work, I realized my vision is limited. My not even 2 year old made a hopscotch game while my 4 and almost 6 year old made masks and then used them to play hide-go-scare. I never would have come up with these ways to play with a box and they had a blast. It was fun to watch, but I didn't get to watch very much because, they needed a lot of help. Especially my 4 year old. She wanted a mask but didn't know how to draw it. I told her to watch her brother, but his were too complicated for her. We talked about her face and where eyes and mouths are and how to put that on paper. I ended up drawing it and cutting it out while she showed me where to draw and where to cut.
These three things have put me in a reflective mood today. I feel like I'm one of my kids. My vision is limited. I feel like God said to me one day, "What do you want to do today? and I said, "I don't know." I think that's how a midlife crisis starts. At least that's how mine started. Now after a lot of prayers, I hope my vision has been expanded, but I'm still betting that God has a lot better stuff in store for me than I'm imagining for myself.
Just like my vision of what my kids could or would do was limited, many of the people around me now and in the future will have a limited vision of what I can or should be doing. My kids completely shut me out when I tried to change their vision, but were very receptive when they could see I wanted to help them further their vision. I should take my lead from them.
Which brings me to the last point. I need a lot of help, so please feel free to be helpful. I've never started a business or stayed on a diet, or even had a clean house. I'm entering new territory. I would love your suggestions, or to hear about things that have worked for you. Just the pats on the back that I've had from people who've read my previous posts have been helpful. So Thank You.

Friday, May 2, 2014

Walls and Hangovers

I believe there is always a way to get through, around, over, or under any wall we might be butting our head against.
I keep thinking I've found a door through my dieting issues, but I smacked my head against that stupid wall again. 
Dieting shouldn't be difficult. It's just choices.Will you eat that or not? Will you eat more or not? Will you exercise today or not? The answers to all these questions are determined by one thing. Will it make me feel good?
Three days ago I went to my mother-in-law's house to eat dinner. In preparation for this dinner I ate vegetables,  all day long. When it was time for dinner I was ready to EAT. But, I know I'm starving so I lay the ground rules before I start. Start with the soup. Don't eat any rice. Pig out on the vegetables. Lay of the meat. STOP WHEN YOU'RE COMFORTABLE, NOT WHEN YOU'RE FULL!!! I have to scream that one at myself because I can never hear it. I sure didn't that night (first head butt to the wall). So I got full. Then to make matters worse (and I always make them worse), I thought to myself, "You've already screwed up, so you better live it up because you're going back on the diet tomorrow and who knows when you'll get these foods again." My mother-in-law's house is full of junk food. I'll leave it to your imagination what happened next (head butt 2-12).
The next morning I've got a sugar hangover and I'm ready to never do that again, but there must have been some sugar still hanging out in my mouth because none of my healthy stuff sounded good to me, so I had the forbidden breakfast food, just this once, which lead to the same for lunch, which lead to a "forget it" dinner and junk food before bed because "You've already screwed up, so you better live it up because you're going back on the diet tomorrow and who knows when you'll get these foods again." And the cycle continued through yesterday. Three days and I've got a headache. I'm not sure if it's because of the headbutting or the hangovers.
So back to this, Will it make me feel good? question. Because I think this is the door in my wall. First of all, I know it won't make me feel good in the long run. But in the short term it feels good like drugs (which I've never done... of course). What I need is something to replace the food that feels good, now! Drugs? No, no, no.
So here's my list:
1. Learn new things through reading
2. Make plans to accomplish things
3. Play piano
4. Watch a movie
5. Play computer games
6. Read to my kids
7. Go running while listening to General Conference
8. Hug my husband
9. Dance to "Hairspray"
10. Take a shower
11. Take a nap
12. Do math (don't judge me)
13. Do something that takes me closer to my goals
14. Write and send an encouraging letter
16. Make a tent and play in it with my kids
17. Plan a Family Home Evening lesson
18. Quality time with my husband
19. Do something to make my kids laugh
20. Play with playdough with the kids
21. Plan the next holiday's activities
22. Do science experiments with the kids
23. Make a cardboard clubhouse with the kids
24. Write and illustrate stories with the kids
25. Do something to surprise and make my husband laugh.
26. Design a math and English curriculum
27. Call my sister or friends
28. Go on a motorcycle ride.

A pretty exhaustive list and some need more effort than others, but I thought if I had a lot of options to choose from then when the ones I usually think of don't have a lot of pull, I'll have a lot more to choose from. Here's hoping this works. If it doesn't then we'll come up with a different plan. 

I Swear

When I started this blog, I was making a commitment. I committed to writing it all. The successes, the failures, and the attitudes in between. I hope this blog will be a documentary of my journey from happy stay-at-home mother, to wildly successful and happy stay-at-home mother. Wildly successful and happy includes a lot of goals, some of which I already talked about in my first blog. Today I made a more complete list of what I want to accomplish in the next couple of months to ten years.

Lose 15 pounds.
Have a clean house
Make nutritious meals
Have a rock hard butt
Help my children to become self-directed learners
Learn Math again
Create a math curriculum for all learning styles
Learn to read and write chinese
Get our leaning styles business off the ground
Write a children's book series
Buy a new vehicle for my growing family
Buy a home in the United States
Have enough money that I can travel between both homes as needed (I live in Taiwan)

There's definitely going to be a lot of ups and downs and changes of destination in the pursuit of these goals. I'm more excited about the journey than the destination. That might be because the destination seems to be on the verge of crazy.